Friday, 21 September 2012

SkillsServe 3.5 Release Notes

1. Organisation Emails URLs
 
Is it a new feature or an upgrade?
The Organisation Emails URLS project brings new functionality to the SkillsServe platform that allows administrators to specify a URL that will appear in all SkillsServe emails on a per Organisation basis.
The project also includes an enhancement when creating a new Organisation.
How it works…
Administrators can now specify a URL for an Organisation.  This can be done at the time of creating an Organisation or in its Settings and Configurations tab afterwards.  This means that every user within the Organisation will see the specified URL in the links that appear in their SkillsServe emails including:
 
  • New User Registration
  • Password Reset
  • CPD Emails
  • Training Plan Emails
  • Push Learning Emails
 
The URLs tab under Site Settings now includes a Name field for URLs.  This Name field (and the existing URL field) can now be included in ALL SkillsServe emails.  As such, every email on the SkillsServe platform will now have a default sign-off that reads:
 
Best regards,
 
Administrator
$WebsiteName (replaced by the chosen URL name)
$WebsiteAddress (replaced by the chosen URL)
 
When a URL has not been set for an Organisation the $WebsiteAddress will be replaced with what has been applied in the $SelfURL configuration setting and the $WebsiteName will be replaced with the name in the title bar of the browser.
 
The New User Registration email has now been changed so that the default text includes a link that redirects the user to SkillsServe where they can set their own password.  The site URL in the link will be of the URL set in the user’s Organisation.
 
One final enhancement that has been made to the platform is when creating a new Organisation in that when it is created a root Organisation Unit will be created at the same time.  The root unit will be named “Default” and will be the default Organisation Unit for the Organisation.
Why is this beneficial?
The functionality in this project is beneficial for multi-tenancy platforms where a number of Organisations share the same database via different website addresses.
Default or Configurable?
This is a default feature that will be available in all v3.5+ sites.
Video Walkthrough
N/A

 

Friday, 7 September 2012

SkillsServe 3.4 Release Notes

1. Assessment Don’t Know and Scheduling

Is it a new feature or an upgrade?

The Assessment Don’t Know and Scheduling project focuses on enhancing the Assessment System to include a number of new features. In addition a new scheduling feature is also available on other activity types.

How it works…

Assessment administrators now have the ability to apply a “Don’t Know” answer option to their assessments. This option will appear as an additional answer for users to select when taking their assessments. This has been developed in conjunction with a new “Negative Marking” feature which assessment administrators can choose to apply if they wish.

clip_image002

When negative marking has been applied to an assessment the scoring on the assessment is changed. If a user answers a question correctly they will score a point. However, if they answer incorrectly they will be deducted a point. If they select the “Don’t Know” answer option (if it has been applied) they will not gain or lose a point. The purpose of this feature is to give clients the ability of encouraging their staff in to admitting when they do not know the answer to a question rather than simply guessing.

clip_image004

The availability of Assessments (as well as a number of other activity types) can now be scheduled so that registered users are only able to launch the activity within a specified time frame.

clip_image006

clip_image008

This feature is available on the following activity types:

  • Assessments
  • eBriefings
  • Audio/Video
  • Offline Activities
  • eLearning
  • Programmes

A new PIN feature has also been developed allowing assessment administrators to apply security on assessments. When a PIN has been applied registered users will only be able to launch the assessment if the correct PIN has been entered. This is beneficial for clients who wish to invigilate assessments in a controlled environment.

clip_image010

clip_image012

The final newly developed feature in this project is giving assessment administrators the ability to set whether the completion status of an assessment changes to “Completed” even if a user has failed the attempt. The purpose of this is to allow clients who use CPD to still accrue credits for the assessment attempt.

clip_image014

Why is this beneficial?

These features are beneficial for a number of reasons:

The “Don’t Know” and “Negative Marking” features give clients the ability of encouraging their staff in to admitting when they do not know the answer to a question rather than simply guessing.

The “Scheduling” and “PIN” features allow clients to host invigilated assessments.

The “Mark as Completed when Failed” feature allows clients to accrue CPD credits in accordance with the professional bodies’ CPD scheme.

Default or Configurable?

This project has been applied to the Assessment System by default in 3.4+ sites.

Video Walkthrough

N/A