Tuesday, 31 January 2017

Unicorn LMS SkillsServe 6.1 Release Notes

6.1 includes a number of great new features and enhancements.

Upload YouTube Video for Activities
YouTube videos can now be added to pathways and training plans with full tracking of time, bookmarking and the ability to automatically award CPD on completion. YouTube is a huge source of great content and this enables you and your learners to benefit from the vast library for free with all of the benefits of being delivered in an LMS.



How does it work?
In the Content Manager choose the option to ‘Upload Video/Audio’ content via the ‘Create’ action. Then select the option to upload a Link. You will then have the option to paste the YouTube video link of your choice. You will immediately be presented with a preview of the YouTube video which you can interact with before saving/creating your new activity.

When the content is saved and created, you may also update and replace the YouTube link with a new one. This activity can be added to pathways, published to catalogues or simply registered to users’ training plans.

How do I get it?
This is a standard functionality and is available to all users that have access to Content Manager.


Registration Rules Enhancements
Registration Rules is a key way for automatically driving who needs to complete activities based on a range of different requirements. You can now edit previously run Registration Rules and enable automatic registration of previously cancelled users.



How does it work?
On the final step of the Registration Rules wizard you can now select ‘Register previously cancelled users’.

You can now edit a previously run rule in the ‘Registration Rules History’ at the bottom of the users tab when editing an activity. You can ‘Reschedule’ a single use rule and ‘Edit’ a reoccurring rule.

How do I get it?
This is a standard functionality and is available to everyone able to register users onto an appropriate activity.


Diagnostic Assessment New Features
You can now create a standalone Diagnostic Assessment to assess knowledge without registering onto the activities being assessed. Individuals can also now assess themselves using the Diagnostic Assessment feature.

Pathway Assessments now have the ability to ask only questions for remaining failed sections on subsequent assessment retakes.



How does it work?
Diagnostic assessments are created by adding items from the Find Learning to the basket. Now after you add a Diagnostic Assessment to the basket you have the option to choose whether it should be a “Standalone Assessment”.  Diagnostic Assessments only allow a single attempt and no retakes.

When adding a Pathway Assessment you can now select “Retake Assessments only on failed activities” if you allow more than one retake.

How do I get it?
This is a standard functionality and is available to all users that have access to activities containing questions for Diagnostic Assessments.


Activity Ratings Featured on Pathways
Pathways now show an aggregate feedback rating summarising the activities inside it.



How does it work?
Users registered onto a pathway activity can rate the individual activities within it as they are completed. All ratings assigned to the various activities in the Pathway will collate together to produce an aggregate total rating. This aggregate rating is assigned to the Pathway, therefore creating a Pathway Rating. Ratings for the Pathway may be viewed via ‘Find Learning’ and ‘Content Manager’ areas.

How do I get it?
This is a standard functionality and is available to all users that have the ability to rate/view ratings for activities. For more in depth information about Activity ratings, view our Help Guide.


Enhanced Find Learning
We’ve improved the navigation around the Find Learning and Content manager to fully support the browser back button – when navigating away to other pages.  This also makes it easier to link directly into sections of the Find Learning libraries.



How does it work?
Now whenever you press the back button in your web browser to go back to the Find Learning or Content Manager you will go back to exactly where you left off.

You can also now copy the link from the Browser address bar from anywhere within the Find Learning area to include in emails or wiki pages to enable users to link directly to the section you want them to.

How do I get it?
This is a standard functionality and is available to all users.


Form Workflow Enhancements
Improved user experience when reviewing forms and viewing objectives within a workflow.



How does it work?                
When reading content and viewing objectives within a form workflow, you will no longer be prompted to save the form when no actual changes have been made – even if you click into the text boxes or objectives.

The prompt to ‘Save’ the form, will now only occur when you’ve made an actual change to the contents of a form.

How do I get it?
This is a standard functionality and is available to all users with access to forms.



When will I get 6.1?
All customers are being upgraded to 6.1 automatically over the next 4 weeks.